90-Second Newbery


Join us for the 90-Second Newbery Film Festival on February 15 at 2pm.

We will be at the Witte Museum's Mays Family Center. Tickets are free and can be reserved on Eventbrite now! We will also be offereing free valet parking to all attendees. There will be popcorn and tshirts and some AMAZING videos! Can't wait to see you there!


90-Second Newbery San Antonio Film Festival Winners in 2019

Need some inspiration? Check out these amazing films from the 2019 90-Second Newbery San Antonio winners! James Kennedy's also has a collection of some of the best 90-Second Newbery videos of all time on his website

Grand Prize Winner

Adaptation of The Giver by Lois Lowry (1994 Newbery Medal Winner)

Adapted by Ethan Q., Shane C., Conner D., and Miguel E. from Boerne, TX

Second Place Winner

Adaptation of Lincoln: A Photobiography by Russell Freedman’s (1988 Medal Winner)

Adapted by Alinne and Brenda from the Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Third Place Winner

Adaptation of The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo’s (2004 Newbery Medal Winner)

Adapted by Rome, Andrew, Manuel, Mac, Maddie, and Edrick from St. Anthony Catholic School

Honorable Mentions

This adaptation of Gary Paulsen’s 1988 Honor Book Hatchet by Utopia ISD and this adaptation of Arnold Lobel’s 1973 Honor Book Frog and Toad Together by Galileo of the Advanced Learning Academy. 


Submit Your Video

Finished filming your amazing take on a Newbery Award Winning or Newbery Honor Book? Great! Here's how to submit it to our contest:

STEP ONE: Upload the video to YouTube or Vimeo

STEP TWO: Fill out THIS FORM to let us know who you are and where your video is (in the form, you'll give us the URL of your video)

Questions? Please let us know.


2018 San Antonio Screening Winners

Find even more inspiration from these amazing films from the 2018 90-Second Newbery San Antonio winners! James Kennedy's full article about the San Antonio screening is also available online

First Place

A grand prize of $1500, was awarded to Robert L. Vale Middle School of Northside ISD, for this adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s 2009 Medal Winner The Graveyard Book by Daniel V., Makayla B., Iyannah G., John O., and Gia B. Check it out! 


Second Place

A prize of $750 went to SAISD's Madison Elementary for Vincent B. and Francisco R.’s Lego stop-motion adaptation of Gary Paulsen’s 1988 Honor Book Hatchet. Check it out!


Third Place

Maverick Elementary of SAISD won $500 for this adaptation of Ruth Stiles Gannett’s 1949 Honor Book My Father’s Dragon by Alek C., Derek M., Aiden U., Anthony S., Julianna A., and Sarai C.

Honorable Mention

This movie of Victoria Jamieson’s 2016 Honor Book Roller Girl won an Honorable Mention and $250 for Rhodes Elementary of Northside ISD.


About 90-Second Newbery

The 90-Second Newbery Film Festival is an annual video contest in which young filmmakers create short movies that tell the entire story of a Newbery winning (or Newbery Honor) book--all in about a minute and a half!

The Mission

  • Entice students to read and discuss Newbery books (especially older, forgotten titles)
  • Encourage the close reading necessary to write a script that creatively sums up a book in 90 seconds
  • Give students opportunities to use new technologies, such as video equipment and editing software, in a creative way that promotes literacy